Feeling Snackish? No Worries, Vegans eat Snacks
Many snacks are accidentally vegan, including Lays Potato Chips
We all have guilty pleasures, and being vegan is no different. When it comes to satiating that craving, sometimes (most times) fruits and vegetables just won’t cut it. Cue all of our crunchy, sweet, salty and deep fried vegan desires!
At one time, finding packaged vegan snacks was not a thing, unless it happened by accident. We see you, Oreo’s! But with veganism becoming more mainstream, we are seeing more and more food companies being intentional about creating foods that do not contain animal products. Rejoice!
While we still have a ways to go to get more food companies to understand that vegans are not going anywhere, there are some vegan fun foods available to us, for when the snack attack hits!
When it comes to crunch, chips are on the top of the list. And thankfully, most potato and corn chips are vegan, as long as they are cooked in vegetable oil. While most junk food brands are synonymous with processing and unnecessary ingredients, Lays keeps their recipe simple: vegetable oil, potatoes, salt. Lay’s doesn’t stop there, though. They have a few other flavors like Barbecue, Deli Style Original, Dill Pickle, and Lightly Salted that are also vegan! And just like it’s potato counterpart, Fritos corn chips are vegan, as well. If Fritos aren’t doing it for you, there’s always Doritos Spicy Sweet Chili corn chips. And, if you randomly find yourself craving chips & bacon, Maple Bacon Kettle chips are vegan, too!
There are also some honourable mentions in the crunch department that are worth mentioning; Ritz crackers, Nabisco Triscuit Crackers Baked Whole Grain Wheat, Snyder’s of Hanover Jalapeño Pretzel Pieces, Sun Chips, Pringles, Ruffles potato chips & Takis corn chips are all vegan!
Now, if you’re after something sweet, chances are, you might find yourself in the candy isle scratching your head over which delectable morsels may be vegan. Not to worry because Jolly Ranchers, Sour Patch Kids, Fruit By The Foot, Airheads & Swedish Fish are all vegan. And if you need something to wash that candy down with, you can feel confident in knowing that Monster & RedBull Energy drinks, strawberry & chocolate Nesquik syrup and Kool-Aid are all vegan friendly. Oh ya!
If you want sweetness that is not candy, then you are in luck because Oreos, Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups, Lindt chocolate bars, Nutter Butter cookies, Famous Amos peanut butter sandwich cookies & Sara Lee/Marie Callender's frozen pies, Brown Sugar Cinnamon Pop-Tarts, Fudge-covered graham squares, Graham Crackers are all vegan! While not technically sweet or candy, Thomas’ New York Style Bagels are worth mentioning here, as they are vegan, as well.
If deep fried is what you’re after, you’ve got a few different options to choose from, as French fries, sweet potato fries, onion rings & Tater Tots are vegan, as long as they are cooked in vegetable oil!
While I don’t recommend being a ‘junk food vegan,’ this list of fun foods will no doubt get you through, when the snack attack hits!